Strong: A letter to Teenage Girls

Hi, from over here, this comfy couch that I got for a steal with tangerine orange pillows.  I’m guessing you’re at the stage where you’re figuring a lot of stuff out.  I get it, I’ve been there. I wish I would have read something like this letter when I was your age.  I’ll try to keep this short because I know your generation is a little bit hasty.

Be friends with people outside of your friend group (click).  I know this may seem hard, but you miss out on so many great friendships when you seclude yourself from others and stick to the same group of friends.  Embrace people’s differences and learn to enjoy getting to know others because you will be doing this for the rest of your life.

Learn to love your body.  I know, I know this is a hard one-but trust me on this.  There is only one beautiful you -cherish your body, nourish it, and take care of it.  Eat real foods, and stay active.  Moderation and balance is key-ultimately you will be happier and healthier if you take this approach (I promise).

Push yourself sign up for a new sport, take an advanced class, join a club, and push your boundaries. There is no better time to dive right in.

Excuses you got em’?  Than get rid of them.  Take full responsibility for your life.  Own it.  Feeling sorry for yourself never got anyone anywhere.  Its tough love, but you will thank me later.

Be strong stick up for yourself, speak up, and stand up for what you believe in, do what’s right and don’t apologize.  There’s nothing more beautiful than a strong woman, both physically and mentally you will feel invincible.  In fact, people will respect you more because of it.

Word hard– hard work is sexy.  It feels good to do it because you know you deserve a good outcome.  It feels pretty nasty when you know you could have done better so why take the risk? Those who hustle feel at peace.

Through every failure there is success.   If you fail, get right back up and understand that it’s a learning process.  It is through failure that we learn so don’t be afraid to fail.

Last, follow your happiness.  Do what brings you joy.  The people you meet with the bright eyes, genuine smile, and blissed out heart are your role models.  Choose happiness always.

I wish you the best in your journey.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

