Friendships, Relationships & Family

 

I like Sunday mornings.  It’s a great day to not have a plan.  A day I get to take as it comes and do whatever catches my attention.  I sometimes reach for a book, flip through a magazine, grab some coffee, lunch with a pal or lace up my shoes for a jaunt on the path. The day is a series of randomness and I lurrrrrve it.

Last night I was with friends on a rooftop bar downtown.  It was a gorgeous evening.  The coming together of friends from past and present was just what I needed.  I felt fully content sitting there buzzing on my wine and holding a conversation filled with laughter.

The night prior was spent tearing up the dance floor at my cousin’s wedding.  My family shared a small, modern, pink and sea-foam green hotel room.  The first to crawl into the crisp sheets was yours truly (me) followed by my mom 1:00am, My Dad 3:00am, and my “last call” kind of brother at 3:45am.  The morning after included 2 eggs sunny side up, hot espresso, and again the contentment of sitting with my hung-over parents over a damn good breakfast.  It was bliss.

The irony is the contentment from friendships and family make up for the incredible amount of vulnerability women and men face in their 20’s.  It’s funny to think how little is written on this topic, but I can guarantee that this post resonates with many.

We walk around wondering if we will meet “the one” or obtain the job we have marked as extraordinary.  The word “relationship” lingers between friends and family.  Do you have someone?  Are you dating?  The idea that comes to mind is where is this expectation coming from? We have so many expectations that we have written for ourselves, but what about planning for a little spontaneity?  I want to enjoy these years of constant growth.  I, like many, am curious about what lays in front of me, but I am giddy about things right now and making today better than yesterday.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friendships, Relationships & Family

  1. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

