Ouch! injured, but positive

Run, jog, walk, Run, jog, walk, jog, walk, jog, walk…walk…walk…

Mile 3 got the best of me. My right foot said no more and though I tried to push on (as my normal stubborn self does) there was nothing that was going to get my right foot to cooperate again. I shuffled the last 2 miles in pain. I had several runners try to encourage me to keep going. I also had empathetic older runners (with lots of injury wisdom) asking if I was ok.

A cute older gent saw me struggling and offered me a ride. I sighed and surrendered to the fact that Fargo Marathon 2014 wasn’t going to happen. The older gent and his wife, I think her name was Patricia, greeted me with endearing eyes. It was almost as if they felt my pain. They were on their way to clean their boat and told me they couldn’t watch me walk any longer. Please know I am not trying to be a sap, but DAMN I was in a lot of pain. The sweet North Dakota couple dropped me off at the finish and wished me luck in my recovery. I couldn’t thank them enough for their kindness and help. I am lucky to have run, or rather, shuffled into such a nice, generous, and caring couple.

I went straight to the med tent. If you have ever been in a med tent it is the worst place to be during a marathon. I hope to never go again. The constant flow of tears, pain, and bandages do not cease. The doc that checked out my foot said that if he had to bet on it he would say it was a stress fracture. “A what?” I questioned, wondering what it was, searching my mind for what it meant. Recovery time? Use? Cast? Crutches? I immediately went into question mode as I tried to gather what this meant for my active body. He said if it continued to swell that I should go to a doctor as soon as possible.

Today is one day post marathon meltdown. I am sitting with my foot atop 2 pillows with an ice pack. I went to the gym earlier today and did the elliptical with one foot. I do not do well with slowing down, but, I am being forced to and slowly I am cooperating.

It didn’t occur to me until this morning that there was a possibility I wouldn’t be able to drive. My right foot is the one that is injured so naturally I started to freak once my toes hit the pedal. Luckily, I am in the clear. I am able to get to and from places with more emphasis on my heel and a couple deep breaths J

Tomorrow I plan to go to the doctor so please keep your fingers crossed that it’s nothing too serious. I am new to everything injury and recovery right now but making sure to become educated of the cause and treatment options for this right foot of mine.

Have you ever been injured? How did you cope with slowing down? What helped you stay positive?!

Happy Mothers day!

 

post image source: http://web-images.chacha.com/images/Gallery/4893/how-do-you-recover-from-running-injuries-780672258-oct-12-2012-1-600×400.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Ouch! injured, but positive

  1. Nooooooo! I’m so sorry, dear! That just stinks 😦 Please keep me posted on your appointment. I had a stress fracture and wore a boot for two months over the winter, so feel your pain (and, if you need a boot, don’t buy one; use mine, as they’re expensive). Sending hugs and healing vibes!

    • Hey Erin,

      I got the x ray done on Tuesday and it is a stress fracture. I am in a “mini” boot for 3 weeks. I say “mini” because there is no ankle support so it easy to drive and get around. Thank you for your hugs and healing vibes. I have had a hard time coping with not running. I get so much from it! At least the doctor said I can swim and bike. I keep reminding myself that 3 weeks isn’t forever and the time off will only help me get back to running sooner. Thanks again for your e-love!

Leave a Reply

