February Goals

I took a month-long break from blogging.   My room got a little cleaner, my journal a bit more filled, and my long runs done a bit earlier….but, I am glad to be tapping away at my keyboard (pat,pat)

 
I will be the first to admit that I am not a big fan of January.  The reason is it is COLD, especially, here over in the tundra of Minnesota. However, good news, its February and I heard the birds chirp this morning so I am excited that spring is coming right around the corner.
 
 
 
I started this year with a simple intention in mind: To be more blunt: with how I feel and what I want. My second intention is to be realistic with my time.  I realized that a good day to me is quite simple.  It involves: a morning cup of coffee, a 1.5  hour workout, work or completion of something (even if its my laundry) and an evening spent relaxing with family/friends over dinner, conversation, and a TV show.
 
 
 I guess 25 has made me aware of what I like and what I dislike, therefore, I am starting to say “no” to things that don’t interest me and trying new hobbies and things that I have been dying to give a go.
 
 
 
  • Ashtanga yoga
  • belly dancing
  • and soon to be salsa dancing
 
 
a few other things on my list:
  • Walker art museum
  • a new bikram yoga studio
  • make my own sushi
  • Juice for a weekend (detox baby)
 
 
I think this is a perfect Segway to February’s goals.
 
 
 
Career
-Land a new gig and EXCEL
-Connect with Experience Life Magazine and work with them
 
 
 
Personal
-Try salsa dancing
-Relax more and schedule down time (My roommate and best friend and I have been working on this together…more movies,reading, candles, and less running around)
 
 
 
Health
-No added sugars for the month of Feb (exception long run days because I haven’t found an alternative fuel to Gu Energy shots or Emergency-C packets)
-Get my calories during the day: I work with a friend who is a personal trainer and we figured out that I roughly need 1,500 calories a day during marathon training.  I am doing five 300 calorie/mini meals a day every 2-3 hours.  This will keep my blood sugar steady.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Did you begin 2014 with an intention? What new hobby would you like to try?

post image source:

Leave a Reply

