Being Real (A Practice in Self Acceptance)

This is me being real:

Writing is my gift

I will never be good with numbers

My anxiety ebbs and flows

I exercise daily and get anxious if I don’t

I have had an eating disorder in the past and it is something I face head on every day!

PHEW

This is me being real, it is my character, and it is me. Take it or leave it, love me or hate me.  I am not perfect nor do I ever want to be.

I bet you too can slap some things down on paper that describe the real you. You may not be proud of them but you should own up to them.  I guess the reason why I am writing this now is because it feels good to ACCEPT it.  It feels good to own it.

You are uniquely you.  Noone can duplicate your skills nor character so put it to good use. Love the people in your life, go for what you want, and don’t let others call the shots for you.  You may be surprised with what happens.

Post image source: http://www.donloree.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/born-to-be-real.jpg

4 thoughts on “Being Real (A Practice in Self Acceptance)

  1. Candice, I love that your posts are short and to the laser-guided point. By the way, your piece on spinning a while back struck a heavy metal chord. You inspired me to join the Firm this month. They have a fabulous new facility. When it comes to exercise I’ve learned I gotta do what I enjoy to maintain consistency. I’m coming to realize this applies to everything. Why force yourself to “be” or “do” stuff you don’t enjoy.

  2. I have heard great things about The Firm! I am happy to hear you joined. The added endorphins will help you chase your kids around!

    Consistency is key. I think exercise is like brushing your teeth. It is something you do everyday for yourself to keep your health in check.

Leave a Reply

