Just Breathe!

I write this blissed out at my favorite coffee shop.  I have a cup of peppermint tea to my right and an orange straw’d Jamba Juice smoothie to my left.  I like this coffee shop because it is among college campuses and cute little shops.  In the coffee shop I see individuals of all ages.  There are some flipping through newspapers, others with a notebook and old school wooden pencil, and of course the flashy types with their gigantic headphones tapping away at their Ipads.

The coffee grinder cranks behind me.  I can smell the Columbia roast and I relish in the scent.  I sip my tea and tap away at this laptop.  I love the way the keys bounce back with every stroke.

Earlier today and yesterday I got back to my mat.  I now live close to a studio so I got my practice back.  I am happy to establish a routine and get back in a groove of some good ol’ yogi’d bliss.

Yesterday during class the instructor said something that caught my attention.  There was a lady next to me who grunted and hissed through every pose.  She was forcing every stretch and gasped for her breath.

The instructor chimed“Remember in yoga if you want a deeper stretch just breathe, you don’t have to force it…let the breath do the work”

Sigh

Don’t make things harder than they have to be.

Fill those lungs up and let the breath propel you through your next sprint, lift, and stretch.

post image source: http://keepingitpersonal.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/breathe.jpg

Leave a Reply

