Whole 30 Day 8: Confessions Of A Crabby Pants

“Ah yes, can I have the garden salad with grilled chicken and balsamic vinegar and olive oil on the side?”

I stare at my glass of water with a little lemon afloat on the top.  I participate in conversation and take my mind off the fact that I am killing for a piece of gluten free bread right about meeeow.  I remind myself that this phase will pass and before I know it I will feel freakishly good (sigh).

I am sorry if you have no idea what the Whole 30 is, but let me explain.

30 days of: veggies, quality protein, some fruit and nuts

NO: dairy, legumes, grains, processed anything

Let me take you through the past 7 days.

  • Holy, I need a nap…yes, I have taken a bit of a nap somewhere in the middle of the day
  • Headaches-my body misses sugar and therefore gives me a great migraine to deal with (fabulous)
  • Apples have become my fav (hello, pink lady crispness)
  • My past sugar relationship was real…I miss Lara bars like no other
  • Green tea and peppermint tea are lovely
  • Asleep by 9:30 because making it past 9 is extremely difficult
  • Crabbing out on all things…seriously don’t mess with me until day 10 grrrrrrr
  • My workouts have been mediocre, however, today was kick ass so things are looking up
  • I am currently upping my running so…shall be continued
  • I have consumed many eggs this week…thinking I need my own chicken

I am REALLY looking forward to next week.

Tonight I plan to try out a new recipe from a cool gal I met at a coffee shop:

Sautéed Swiss Chard (minus the parmesan)

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sauteed-swiss-chard-with-parmesan-cheese/

and I’ll pair it with sweet potato’s:

http://allthingsyogi.com/2012/09/25/sweet-potato-perfection-and-chia-seed-protein-shake/

& a lean turkey patty!

 

What have you been munching on? Are you upping your running too? Ditching sugar? Signing up for a race? Fill me in!

 

High five to you, Candice

 

post image source: http://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRiePMUCUAAqZUz.jpg:large

Leave a Reply

