Thanks-Giving

This will be the first Thanksgiving that I am not with at least one of my family members.  Last year, my mom came to California and we had a non-conventional dinner of salmon.  This was mostly due to the fact that I was scared to cook a turkey.  I was a bit intimidated of picking it out, prepping it, and cooking it correctly without getting food poisoning.  The salmon turned out great and we had wine and talked about life.

This year, I wanted the big family style Thanksgiving.  I come from a family (mom, from family of seven and dad from family of six) so I am use to a lot of commotion during the holidays.  I like the long table, cousins running around everywhere, and bicker of what you are up to and what’s new.

I’ve realized there will always be the family members that always share they are “good” … “good” is safe, it is accepted and it’s a great reply to what could be a potentially difficult, real, and more substantial conversation.  I know for me, if I respond “I am good” it’s usually to get out of a conversation or because I simply don’t feel comfortable having more than a surface level conversation.

I like the conversations with substance.  It goes beyond a simple “good” and hits something deeper.  This is connection.  This is what more of the world needs then a straight faced, slight smile, “good” because the truth is, we are not always “good” and that’s ok.  On the other hand, we can also be “great” and can have the opportunity to share our triumphs and mini successes.  This is awesome.  This is raw and real connection.  These are the conversations we should be having at T-gives.

I am going to a friend of mines family thanksgiving this year.  I am looking forward to getting to know her family, their traditions, and the funny quirks that make them who they are.  I may not be at ease with many familiar faces, but I am looking forward to seeing how another family celebrates the holiday.

Below is a list of the top 15 things I am thankful for this year.

  1. The Fishback family, for welcoming me to their home and allowing me to live with them for a year!
  2. Receiving e-mails from readers on All Things Yogi.
  3. Seth and his extra room and bathroom.  Thanks for bailing a girl out and making me keep at my California dreamin’
  4. Whole 30. Enough said.
  5. Yogasource Palo Alto.  Johnny’s bikram class.
  6. How close I have become with my brother over the last year even though we live far apart!
  7. Becca T and our friendship.  Two Minnie gals living in CA.
  8. Sweet potatoes…if you think I am joking, you must try.
  9. Indeed.com for growing me professionally and being nurturing to an entry level gal
  10. My parents for listening to every phone call and giving me constant advice and encouragement
  11. Mike , great athlete, great mentor, and a stellar dude
  12. My cousin’s status updates of kid breakthroughs and chubby cheeked baby pictures that graze my Facebook feed.
  13. My friends that supported the marathon!
  14. New friendships
  15. Moving across the country and makin’ it work, even through periods of doubt and insecurities.

What are your 15? How are you celebrating? And is “good” your go- to reply when asked how you’ve been? Just a little something to munch on as you are eating your turkey.

Happy Early Thanksgiving.

6 thoughts on “Thanks-Giving

  1. I’m thankful for spending T-day with my family, even though they may drive me crazy at times! It’s easy to forget that not everyone has the privilege of spending the holidays with their friends and families.

  2. Last year was the first time I didn’t spend thanksgiving with my family. I’m thankful for the other large family that welcomed me as one of their own last year and again this year. My grateful post will be live on the blog on Thursday.

    Hope your turkey day is filled with laughter, love and connections 🙂 Enjoy it!

  3. Looking forward to reading your post. I like how we can inspire eachother through our writing.

    I love your site and wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving filled with good food, fun, and lots “o” love.

Leave a Reply

