Forgive me, I have a Cold

This time of year the office, classrooms, homes, are filled with Kleenex’s and cough drops.  Let’s face it, when the sun goes down earlier and the cooler temperatures strike we are prone to get sick at least once.

I will be the first to admit, I am not good at being sick.  I tend to ignore it and push through.  I may double up on Vitamin C or wear an extra layer, but I am adamant about “toughing it out” and acting as if the “cold” doesn’t exist.

My mom, on the other hand, plays a different card.  She puts on her comfy clothes, buys Mrs. Grass soup, and nurses her sniffles with a good book and rest.

…Now it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out who plays it right.  My mom is seldomly sick, and I, on the other hand, seem to catch any passing sniffle, cough, or flu that comes my way.

It comes down to patience with me.  I don’t like being sick and therefore act as if I am not sick.  My mom acknowledges she is sick and does something about being sick.

I see this in my brother, co-workers, friends, and strangers in -line at Walgreens waiting for their prescription to be filled.

Below are a list of 10 things you can do when you’re sick that will get you into a blissful state of recovery and get you feeling better (this list is for you as much as it is for me )

  1. Go out and buy that book that you have been meaning to read and haven’t gone around to it.
  2. Take a Vitamin C supplement.  I like Jarrow brand: http://jarrow.com/
  3. Buy a liter water bottle or fill one that you have and drink, repeat, drink.
  4. Eat Soft Foods: This will help ease stress on your digestive system, which enables your body to focus on healing itself.  Favor foods like bananas, organic soups, sweet potatoes, sautéed kale and spinach.
  5. Rest.  Allow yourself to take a 30 min nap.  When you are sick, your body has to work overtime.
  6. Rub Peppermint or tea tree essential oil on your neck and chest.  This helps if you have a head cold.
  7. Get Creative.  Paint, write, draw, do something sedentary that you often don’t have time to do.
  8. If you can’t stand being home, head to a coffee shop and get a cup of tea.  Coffee is a bit harsh on the body when you are sick, but tea can warm you up and give you something warm to sip on.
  9. “Magazine it” you know you treat yourself when you travel to a magazine so why not when you are feeling under the weather? Health, style, travel, cooking, whatever your interests pick one up and get comfy on your couch.
  10. Saunas are great if you have a slight head cold and a long, warm shower or bath will do too.

Use the mantra “treat yourself like gold” if you do, chances are you will feel better and recover from your “bug” more quickly.

One thought on “Forgive me, I have a Cold

Leave a Reply

