Chasing Happiness

I find that I am always trying to do more, make more, enjoy more, go out more, laugh more, buy more, and plan more.  I am guessing that this is true for you too.  We all want happiness.  I do, you do, and the guy/gal next to you.

If you don’t know my locale, that’s ok, I will let you know right here.  I currently live in Silicon Valley AKA the modern day Gold Rush.  The area I live in is the home to Facebook, Google, LinkedIn, Yelp, AOL, and several other Techie companies.  The energy is intense, the work ethic is tremendous, and the cash flow is off the charts.  I like it here.  It is exciting and is filled with people who are up to some pretty cool shit.  However, there is one thing I have noticed here more than my humble upbringing in the land of 10,000 lakes, Minnesota.  I have seen many people who look overworked, tired, and grumpy.  They don’t look enthused, they, like me and you are chasing after more…which brings me to the whole point of this post, the idea that having more, doing more, may in the end not bring us to happiness.  So what is happiness? And how do we obtain it without wearing ourselves out? Can we stop chasing and see the current situation as already full of bliss?

I like to remind myself of the concrete everyday things that bring me joy.  They are close to free and sure to please.

Holding a cup of coffee in the early morning

Being near water, mountains, the woods, and a gorgeous backyard.

Looking through photos of the past weekend

The first spray of perfume when getting ready for work

Hitting the “publish” button on this website

The coziness of a comfy sweater or sweatshirt

Reading the New York Times

Surfing through a plethora of blogs and feeling inspired

The first nourishing meal after a hard workout

Uplifiting someone through a comment or a nice gesture and seeing them smile in response

Finding the slices of avocado in my salad…the best part, duh.

Spraying Lavender Essential oil on a pillow

Book. Coffee .bed. cuddling.

The smell of pumkin and cinnamon this time of year

2 thoughts on “Chasing Happiness

  1. My list is nearly identical. We think alike 🙂

    For me, happiness is about being present in the moment and enjoying or appreciating it exactly as it is. It’s a constant work in progress!

Leave a Reply

