Whole 30: Wins and Obstacles

I know this is detailed, but you have to get down to the nitty gritty to find what foods do/don’t work for you.  Foods that work for you give you vitality, they are nourishing, and they are energizing.  This is apparent in our moods, complexion, and energy.

This Whole 30 thing really gets down to our connection with food:  How we see it, how we eat, our overall relationship with something that once was so simple and has now become so complex.  It gets us back to the basics so that we can feel how it feels to feel good.

Below are a few of the obstacles and wins I have experienced on my Whole 30:

Wins:

  • I’m cooking.
  • No added sugars. Not going back. It’s a rollercoaster I don’t want to get back on.
  • Eating breakfast.
  • Bikram Practice Breakthroughs:  close to touching my foot to my head in standing bow pose (sounds akward, looks akward, but it’s awesome) and toe stand is almost there…(gotta get down the balance-it’s all about the breath)
  • Got my friends hooked on sweet potatoes…your next .
  • Getting up at 5am is becoming a wee- bit easier.
  • Less headaches. more energy. less brain fog.

              

Obstacles

  • I love wine and the happy buzz amazingness. My dance moves suffer without it, therefore, not ready to give it up.
  • More veggies and less nuts
  • 8pm is not an “ok” time to raid the nut jar: cashews, almonds, moderation.
  • Whole 30 breakfast before Half Marathon San Francisco, any suggestions?
287 thoughts on “Whole 30: Wins and Obstacles

  1. I can relate to raiding the nut jar… until I realized just how sensitive I am to them and how horrible they made me feel. I cut them out completely (almonds + cashews) and now only eat peanut butter.

    Yay for sweet potatoes! And, you are my yoga inspiration! Touching my toes to my head in standing bow pose is currently a dream 🙂

    Whole30 breakfast… a two-ingredient pancake? http://carrotsncake.com/2012/08/secrets-to-a-perfect-two-ingredient-pancake.html

    When’s the race?! Good luck, dear!

  2. We are due for a nice class of sauv blanc or any vino my lovey. Good tips here, although just remember there isn’t necessarily a “bad” time to eat, i.e after 8 is not necessarily a no-no for nuts, just depends on what you really need at that time. I didn’t realize you were doing a half-marathon, go you! You’re an inspiration and perhaps you can give me some running pointers so I can give a halfer another go, sans terrible hamstring cramps this time! love you lady!

    • Hey Lise!

      I agree with you, there isn’t a “bad” time to eat. I don’t have a problem with eating at 8pm. I do have a problem with “raiding” the nut jar at 8pm 🙂

      Half Marathon for sure.

      Love you!

      • I think this is one of the most significant info for me.
        And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things,
        The site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent :
        D. Good job, cheers

      • This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
        Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!)
        Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

        Too cool!

  3. Definitely! Writing is a vulnerable art. It gives complete strangers and inside perspective on your values, thoughts, and everyday happenings. I don’t know about you, but writing is not an option for me. I think in terms of posts and feel that writing allows me to get out a creative energy that is hardwired within me.

    What is writing to you? What motivates you to write? What topics do you like to write about? These are all great questions to provide you with a niche or area of focus for your writing.

    There are pros and cons to both a free platform (like this) or a paid platform. A paid platform gives you more control of developing key words and is better equipped for search engine optimization (in my opinion) However, WordPress is a great tool for writers that are just starting out and our a little green when it comes to technology. WordPress is pretty user friendly and allows you many options so that you can structure your site the way you want to.

    I hope this helps!
    Please let me know if you have other questions.

    Best,
    Candice

  4. Thank you for stopping by! I plan to do some writing this weekend so thank you for the extra push 🙂 Glad to know it was fruitful for you. Its what keeps me writing!

  5. I’m not positive the place you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend a while learning more or working out more.
    Thank you for wonderful info I was on the lookout for this information for my
    mission.

  6. Hey there great blog! Does running a blog similar to this take a massive amount work?
    I’ve no knowledge of coding however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject nevertheless I simply wanted
    to ask. Thank you!

      • Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
        When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
        some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

        Other then that, amazing blog!

      • Hey excellent blog! Does running a blog similar to this
        take a great deal of work? I’ve very little knowledge of coding however I had been hoping
        to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please
        share. I understand this is off topic however I just needed to ask.

        Cheers!

      • Hello, Thank you! I think it all comes down to content. A great blog involved a great writer. Therefore, if you have the skill it WILL be successful. I believe with any skill you have to practice so writing 1-2x week is essential. Please let me know if you have any other questions!

      • Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am encountering troubles with your
        RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable to join it.
        Is there anyone else getting the same RSS problems?
        Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond?
        Thanx!!

  7. I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog.

    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility
    issues? A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my site
    not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  8. Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg
    it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  9. This is the right web site for anybody who would like to understand this topic.
    You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that
    I really would want to…HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject
    that has been discussed for years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  10. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try
    to get the hang of it!

  11. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or
    guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would
    value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  12. Hey very cool web site!! Man .. Beautiful ..
    Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also? I am glad to find a lot of helpful info here in the put up, we
    want work out extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  13. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme
    in our community. Your web site offered us with
    valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

    • Please tell me about the new scheme!

      I am interested in hearing about the steps your taking in your community.

  14. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due
    to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  15. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  16. Fantastic website. A lot of useful information here.

    I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thank you to your sweat!

  17. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future
    and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this
    article. I desire to read even more things about it!

    • What do u desire to hear about exactly? This post has been very well followed and I am curious on how I should expand. Thank you!

  18. Whats up are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my
    own. Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  19. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site
    with us soo I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog andd excelllent
    style and design.

  20. Having read this I thought it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this information together.

    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading
    and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  21. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board
    and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.

    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  22. Hey there! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a theme or
    plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thank you!

  23. When someone writes an article he/she maintains the image
    of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it.
    Thus that’s why this article is perfect. Thanks!

  24. Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, great blog!

  25. Hello I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was looking on Digg for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post and a
    all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the great work.

  26. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book
    in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message
    home a little bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I will definitely be back.

  27. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always useful to read articles from
    other authors and use something from their websites.

  28. I have learn some excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how a lot attempt you place to
    create one of these fantastic informative site.

  29. wonderful issues altogether, you simply
    won a emblem new reader. What might you suggest in regards
    to your submit that you made some days in the past? Any certain?

  30. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before
    but after browsing through some of the post
    I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I
    found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

  31. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this brilliant
    blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with
    my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  32. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and
    I to find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to offer one
    thing back and aid others like you aided me.

    • Thank you for reading!

      I will be writing a follow-up post to this post.

      My diet and nutrition plan has changed after doing the whole 30. I no longer eat nuts/nut butters. I also have limited my dairy intake to goat cheese (on occasion) I don’t think this is for everybody, but it works for me. We are all so unique in what works/ does not work for us.

  33. Simply want to say your article is as surprising.

    The clarity in your post is simply cool and i can assume you are an expert on this
    subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab
    your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  34. Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and
    in depth information you provide. It’s awesome to come
    across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed
    material. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  35. Your style is so unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just bookmark this blog.

  36. I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.

    Thanks for great info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  37. Usually I do not read post on blogs, however I would like
    to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do it!
    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you,
    very great post.

  38. Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Thanks

  39. Hi I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyways I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have
    saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great
    deal more, Please do keep up the awesome b.

  40. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site.
    You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some content for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please
    send me an e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

  41. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got
    this from. cheers

  42. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. Nevertheless think about if you added some great visuals or video clips
    to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips,
    this website could definitely be one of the greatest in its
    niche. Very good blog!

  43. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?
    Thank you!

  44. Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.

    The clarity in your submit is simply spectacular and
    i can suppose you’re knowledgeable on this subject.
    Fine along with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thank you one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  45. I think that everything published was very
    logical. However, think on this, what if you composed a catchier title?
    I am not suggesting your content isn’t solid., but what
    if you added a title that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean Whole 30: Wins and
    Obstacles | All Things Yogi is kinda vanilla. You might look at
    Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news headlines to grab people interested.

    You might add a video or a related pic or two to grab readers
    excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it would make your posts a little bit more interesting.

  46. Greetings from California! I’m bored at work
    so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your
    blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, excellent blog!

  47. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would value your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  48. Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and
    in depth information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  49. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

  50. You are so cool! I don’t think I have read a single thing like that before.
    So good to find somebody with a few genuine thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is required on the internet, someone
    with a little originality!

  51. I seriously love your website.. Great colors &
    theme. Did you build this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my very own site and would
    love to know where you got this from or just what the theme is named.

    Appreciate it!

  52. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was doing a
    little research on this. And he in fact ordered me lunch simply because I discovered it for
    him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic
    here on your blog.

  53. Heya terrific website! Does running a blog such as this require a large amount of work?
    I’ve virtually no understanding of programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog
    in the near future. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I simply had to ask.
    Thank you!

  54. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be
    honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go
    ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Many thanks

  55. certainly like your web site however you have to test the spelling on quite
    a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and
    I to find it very troublesome to inform the reality on the other hand I will definitely come again again.

  56. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site.
    You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast
    me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  57. I’m curious to find out what blog system you’re utilizing?
    I’m experiencing some minor security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to
    find something more safeguarded. Do you have
    any suggestions?

  58. Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and
    would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would enjoy your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  59. I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your information. This article has really peaked my interest.

    I am going to take a note of your site and keep checking for new
    information about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  60. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?

    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would certainly benefit from a
    lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

  61. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a
    doubt donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  62. This is the perfect blog for everyone who hopes to understand this
    topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue
    with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject
    that has been written about for many years. Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  63. First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to find out howw you center yourrself and clear your
    head prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing myy
    mind in getting my ideas out. I do take pleasure iin writig howeer
    it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost
    just trying to figure out how tto begin. Any suggestions
    or tips? Many thanks!

    • Stop thinking about how to begin and just start writing. Write when you are inspired and dont force it. Try waking up early with an extra strong cup of coffee :)!

  64. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re
    going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  65. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very
    well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to
    read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  66. I am no longer certain the place you are getting your info, however great topic.
    I needs to spend a while studying more or understanding more.

    Thanks for fantastic info I was searching for this information for my mission.

  67. Good day! I just want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great information you’ve got
    right here on this post. I will be returning to your web site for more soon.

  68. I don’t even know how I ebded up here, but I thought this post was
    good. I do not know who you are but certainly
    you aree going to a famous blogger if you are not
    already 😉 Cheers!

  69. I blog frequently and I seriously appreciate your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest.

    I am going to book mark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I subscribed to your Feed too.

  70. Good day! I simply would like to offer you a huge thumbs up for your gteat information you’ve got
    here on this post. I will be returning too your
    blog for more soon.

  71. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your site is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

  72. I’m more than happy to discover this page. I wanted to thank you for your
    time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely liked
    every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to see new stuff on your site.

Leave a Reply

