Unplug

I don’t know about you, but I am sick of being “plugged in” all the time, yes, IPods, Ipads, television, computers, and so on.  You may call me crazy or a little bit hippy dippy, but whatever, I like my life more when I purposely leave my phone at my house or stash my computer away for hours so that I can “just be”

Where has all of this “plugged in” life gotten us? Let’s see…

Miscommunication: Texting makes it hard to feel emotion and actually know what a person meant.

Poor eyes: staring at a computer screen can damage your eyes so make sure to give them a break at least 5 minutes every hour.

Weak hearts: TV time, computer time, all takes away for us to have “moving time” with our bodies, hello obesity, thank you very much.

Car Crashes: Texting and talking on the phone while driving has distracted MANY drivers.

Headaches: It is difficult to be present and in the moment while multi-tasking.

Face Time: Less face to face time, personal connections, and it shows with the ever increasing demand for psychological help.

Last night I purposely left my laptop in the car, my cell in my room, IPod out of juice, and guess what? I read a book and it was good.

Try unplugging yourself for a few hours.  What do you notice? Changes in your mood? Your relationships?

4 thoughts on “Unplug

  1. I’ve been working on this lately, but dang, it’s HARD. While I have been reading more, there is still plenty of time to unplug and forget about what’s happening in the social media world (duh… it goes on without me!).

    When I unplug I definitely relax more, and my mind clears and calms. With that… I’m logging off and going out for a bike ride!

    Happy weekend, friend 🙂

  2. Hey Erin,

    It is HARD, especially because we have all gotten use to instant gratification: updates, notifications, news; everything is so fast paced and immediate.

    The last things I want to do when I get home from work is be near my computer.

    I hope you had a great weekend, xo.

  3. I rarely comment, however after reading some of
    the remarks on Unplug | All Things Yogi. I do have
    2 questions for you if it’s okay. Is it just me
    or does it look as if like some of these responses look like
    they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And,
    if you are writing at additional places, I’d like
    to keep up with you. Would you post a list of every one of all your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

