Affirmations

The first thing that comes to mind when thinking of affirmations is the cliché scene of a guy waking up in the morning and looking in the mirror saying, “I am strong, I am courageous, I am handsome.”  It’s that little morning pep talk that puts the fire in the soul.

A good friend of mine named Mike; career mentor, stellar athlete, and lunch mate told me to come up with a few affirmations that would help get through the run (all 26.2 babbbby).  It took me 2 weeks to come up with 5 that meant something to me, but they came in handy and gave me the mental strength to push through.

Below are the 5 affirmations that helped me through 26.2

  • Do it for Bruce (family friend who has cancer)
  • Think like the navy (people in the navy learn to break big tasks down so that they can celebrate  mini victories)
  • This pain is fueling my run
  • If people can do Ironman’s I can do a marathon
  • I trained for this

This got me thinking, what if I used affirmations during different times in the week?  What about during hard workouts? Stressful events? Bad habits? Or times when pushing for change?

A few new affirmations have come to mind:

  • This too shall pass
  • One thing at a time
  • Be well
  • I deserve this
  • There are NO excuses
  • You are loved
  • You are DOING this

By:  Erin@http://sweetsweat.wordpress.com/

  • Be present

By: Erin@http://sweetsweat.wordpress.com/

What are some affirmations that would help you power through?

Maybe they can be uplifting for times when you feel burdened or maybe they can be mindful to get you on your way to being better, healthier, and stronger.

2 thoughts on “Affirmations

  1. Love these affirmations! I often repeat an affirmation while on a hard bike ride, during a race or in yoga practice, doing some not particularly enjoyable, etc. A few I’ve used… you are strong. you are DOING this. be present. savor every second.

    Big congrats on your first 26.2, Candice! So proud of you!

    • Erin, we are so much alike its crazy…must be the Lulu in us. I am stealing the “you are DOING this” and “Be present” affirmations. LOVE.

Leave a Reply

