Sweet Potato Perfection and Chia Seed Protein Shake

Sweet Potato Perfection and Chia Seed Protein Shake

This weekend I perfected baked sweet potatoes…yes! Finally! I will say this has been an on- going effort.  I have thrown them out, lit them on fire, and I have under and over baked them to the point that they no longer resembled their ugly, weirdly shaped selves.

Below is the secret to a perfectly baked sweet potato.  I have even created a step-by-step process so that you can avoid everything I have seemed to come across in my efforts.  Let’s just say sometimes you have to “dumb” it down to make it effortless and easy.

Pre-heat oven to 450

Step 1: Purchase 4 medium sized sweet potatoes

Step 2: Wash the sweet potatoes (water and hand style)

Step 3: Place sweet potatoes in the microwave for 8 minutes (you may need to do 2 at a time depending on the size of your microwave)

Step 4: Take sweet potato’s out of microwave (careful, they will be hot, please don’t burn your hands playing hot potato) and wrap each sweet potatoes in aluminum foil…make sure the there is enough aluminum foil to wrap the whole potato.

Step 5: (with an oven mit on) place each individually; tinfoil wrapped sweet potato in the oven.  Place the potatoes on the first level (closest to the bottom)

Step 6: Bake Sweet Potato’s for 1 hour.

Oven- mit them out of the oven and let cool.

Sweet Potato Nutrition Information:

http://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/vegetable/health-benefits-of-sweet-potatoes.html

Chia Seed Protein Shake/pudding

I have never been a big breakfast person; handful of almonds, banana and almond butter, or a protein shake is usually my go-to.  Lately I have been experimenting with Chia Seeds, so give this a try!

  • 1 scoop of whey protein powder
  • 8 oz. of water or almond/coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp. of chia seeds

The longer you let it sit, the thicker the shake will become.  Chia seeds expand when they mix with liquids.

Note: This same protein shake can be made into pudding.  Take this same recipe and mix it in a bowl and let it sit in the fridge overnight.  The next morning you will have a thick and protein filled pudding!

Chia Seed Nutrition Information:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/444471-top-ten-health-benefits-of-chia-seeds/

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Perfection and Chia Seed Protein Shake

  1. Ha… you’re not the only one who’s burned a sweet potato! Worst smell ever. They’re definitely one of my favorite veggies… love dicing into 1-inch cubes, nuking and then sauteing in coconut oil, sea salt, pepper and cinnamon.

    I had a bag of chia seeds at work that I brought home today specifically to try your recipe! My breakfasts have been slacking, and this sounds like the perfect morning protein boost! I’ll let you know how it turns out 🙂

    • Awesome! yes, let me know what you think. I will try your sweet potato recipe!love that I am not alone with the struggle with breakfast.

Leave a Reply

