Whole 30 Day: 1

I am documenting the Whole 30 day-by-day with the following goals in mind:

http://whole9life.com/

  • Be a guinea pig for others
  • Try something that has been getting a lot of attention in the health blog world
  • Break out of the habit of relying on Trader Joe’s for everything and make new meals that I actually enjoy eating.
  • GET COOKING

I will post daily during the Whole 30:

  • Hours of Sleep
  • Mood
  • Workouts
  • Whole 30 Meal/ Snack Recipie

Day 1:

I pretty much cried when I had to freeze the peanut butter .  I froze pasta sauce (with sugar),  gluten free bread, greek yogurt, hummus and luckily finished the last of the Greensplus bars a few days prior.

http://greensplus.com/index.php

Luckily I knew I was going to commit to the Whole 30 so I didnt have to “tweak” too many things in my kitchen.  I purchased a few things for the weekend and now I have got a Whole 30 friendly fridge for one:

  • sweet potatos
  • eggs
  • coconut water, Blue Monkey brand with pulp
  • spinach
  • canned chicken,  ingredients: chicken and salt
  • pecan butter (first timer, and def a fan)
  • bananas
  • apples
  • oven roasted almonds
  • tomatos
  • cucumber
  • carrots
  • dried prunes
  • olive oil
  • balsamic

Later today I will be getting tupperware for the work week.  It deffinitely takes more planning then I have been doing, but I like how it’s forcing me to be creative in the kitch.

Day 1: Saturday 9/9

Sleep: 1a-9a, 8 hours, yes! deffinitely a person who needs 8 hours otherwise I am a crab and nap, which, is very inconvenient with how busy the days have been.

Workout: 8.5 mile run, 2.5 mile walk due to getting lost (eeeek) and 20 min roll out with softball on the hips, it’s a love and hate relationship.

Mood: good, a bit pissed I couldn’t get to mile 13, but had to listen to the hips.

Snack: Banana Bliss

  • 1 med banana sliced
  • 1 tbsp Pecan Butter
  • Cinnamon

I like to chop up the banana and put it in a bowl and drizzle the pecan butter and top it with LOTS of cinnamon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Whole 30 Day: 1

  1. Good luck with your Whole30, Candice! I did one last year, too, though it’s not too different from how I normally eat. And, good for you for listening to your hips 🙂

    Pecan butter + bananas sounds amazing! YUM.

    Also, do you cook with coconut oil? Sautéing veggies + protein in it is delicious!

Leave a Reply

