Sun and Bleachers

I currently live in the backyard of an amazing family.  This family has known me since I was a little baby, about 2 weeks old, and I cannot thank them enough for allowing me to live with them until I get more situated here in California. ..If it weren’t for them my move would not have been possible.

Last night was the youngest daughter’s 8th grade graduation.  This was a big deal for many reasons: she is leaving a school she has been at for the last 8 years, she is going on to high school, she has been with the same friends from k-8th (there are 12 kids in her class…total.) so I was pumped to watch her graduation because I knew how much it meant to her.

Straight from work, I helped her get ready.  I was the make-up gal! I guess after a few years of working at a salon (during high school) I have been pegged the do- it all lady for hair and make-up (which I love.)

Bleacher seats and a beautiful sunset the graduation ceremony was great.  The early teenaged- aged kids sat in their white chairs looking sophisticated beyond their years.

The school treated the graduation like a glorified college graduation.  There was an introduction and each student gave a speech.  During the ceremony I laughed, I cried, and was taken aback by the depth of the speeches and how skilled they were at articulating their struggles and triumphs.

Below are a few snippets from the speeches:

“Oh god, this is going to be embarrassing… (Big breath and tears)  Dad, even though you’re not around much I love you… (More deep breaths and tears)”

“Stress is pointless.  The past is the past and the future is the future.  The best time is the present and you are OK right here– right now–and that’s all that matters”

“This school has taught me to be comfortable with myself.  We have gone to a great school and even though we have an amazing education you cannot teach character”

“These students sitting by me are the next Gandhi’s, Mother Theresa’s, and the next Michelle Obama’s.  We all have one life to live so we need to make it mean something”

“At first I was kind of shy and timid.  It took me a lot to warm up to people.  This school taught me to be comfortable in my own skin.  I’m the girl dancing and singing in the halls.  I can be myself and not feel judged”

…who knew one could learn so much from a few, short, thirteen year olds speeches.

 

Leave a Reply

